Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Lake Erie

Storm Picked to Finish 4th in G-MAC

Storm Picked to Finish 4th in G-MAC

(INDIANAPOLIS)- The Great Midwest Athletic Conference (G-MAC) conference coaches and league office unveiled the men's soccer preseason coaches poll presented by Under Armour on Friday. The Lake Erie College men's soccer team was picked to finish fourth among eleven in the G-MAC for the 2019 season. 

Tiffin University topped the poll after receiving 98 points (8) first-place votes. The Tiffin Dragons are the reigning champions of the G-MAC both in the regular season and conference tournament play. Cedarville came in second after finishing at 10-2-2 last season. Ohio Valley was voted third with 79 points (3) first-place votes. 

The Fighting Scots of Ohio Valley the NCAA DII Midwest Regional champions are one of two G-MAC teams that are nationally-ranked, with the other team being Tiffin.  

The Storm was balloted in at fourth, coming off a 9-5-4 season. During the semifinals in the conference tournament, Lake Erie fell short of an upset, with a 2-1 loss in overtime against the eventual conference champions Tiffin Dragons. 

Coach Louie Rolko will be in his third year at the head of the men's soccer program. Lewis Dunne returns for support as Rolko's assistant. 

Three G-MAC All-Conference players return for Lake Erie. Omar Oliveros-Alvarez, Javier Borreguero, and Jonathan Carr each earned the All-Conference honors. Oliveros-Alvarez helped lead a defense that produced five shutout matches against conference opponents. Borreguero was tied for fourth in the conference with 22 points and 10 goals. Carr was second in the G-MAC with 10 assists. 

Lake Erie men's soccer will commence the 2019 season at home vs. Ashland University on Sept. 5 at 7:00 pm, and will stay at home for a match against Slippery Rock University on Sept. 7 at 6:00 pm. The Storm opens up G-MAC play away at Malone University Sept. 10 at 1:30 pm.


G-MAC Men's Soccer Preseason Coaches Poll presented by Under Armour


Team (First-place votes)

Poll Points


Tiffin (8)

98 points 



87 points


Ohio Valley (3)

79 points 


Lake Erie

72 points


Alderson Broaddus

63 points


Ohio Dominican

59 points


Trevecca Nazarene

52 points



33 points



27 points



23 points


Kentucky Wesleyan

12 points