Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Lake Erie

Two Players Named to All-ICAA First Team

PAINESVILLE, Ohio - Two Lake Erie College softball players were named to the 2009 All-Independent Collegiate Athletic Association First Team. 

Catcher Megan Foley (Brunswick, Ohio/Brunswick) was tabbed as the league's Freshman of the Year, while senior Katie Staats (Willoughby, Ohio/Willoughby South) was also named to the First Team.

Foley led the Storm in batting average (.419), home runs (six), RBI (17), runs (16) and walks (17) in her freshman season with Lake Erie.
Staats, a senior outfielder, hit .284 for Lake Erie with 11 RBI and five stolen bases.
The ICAA in softball consists of seven NCAA Division II independent schools: Columbia Union, Chowan, Flagler, Lake Erie, North Greenville, Palm Beach Atlantic and Urbana. The All-ICAA teams were selected by League Director Mike Bond.
The Storm opens its season on February 10, 2010 with a doubleheader at West Virginia University. It will be Lake Erie's final season as an NCAA Division II independent. Beginning with the 2010-11 academic year, the Storm will compete in the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.