Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Lake Erie

Women’s Lacrosse Named IWLCA Academic Team for Third Straight Year

Rage On! (Photo by Ryan Baker/Baker Media Productions, Inc.)
Rage On! (Photo by Ryan Baker/Baker Media Productions, Inc.)

PAINESVILLE, OHIO – For the third consecutive year, the Lake Erie College women's lacrosse team has been named an Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Academic Team for the 2012 season.  The IWLCA made the announcement late Monday (Aug. 20).

Each year the IWLCA has recognized schools across each NCAA division with a team GPA of 3.0 or higher. Lake Erie was one of 19 schools in Division II earning Academic Squad honors for the 2012 season.

"To be named an Academic Squad for the third consecutive year really shows how committed our student-athletes are to working hard both in the classroom and on the field," said second-year head coach Jillian Howley. "Our program has achieved this recognition every year of its existence and our goal is to continue this trend going forward."

Twelve of the 16 student-athletes posted GPA's higher than 3.0, including seven over 3.5.  In each of the previous two seasons, Lake Erie has been named a Merit Squad and has posted the highest team GPA in Division II for both 2010 and 2011. 

During the season, the Storm matched its single-season record win total of seven (7-10 overall) in its final season in the East Coast Conference (ECC).  This year, Lake Erie will compete in the inaugural season of women's lacrosse in the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC).

The IWLCA will announce its Merit Squads for 2012 at a later date.  Below is a complete list of the 2012 Division II Academic Squads.

2012 IWLCA NCAA Division II Academic Squads
Bentley University
Dowling College
Florida Southern College
Franklin Pierce University
Georgian Court University
Grand Valley State University
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Lake Erie College
Limestone College
Mercyhurst University
Merrimack College
Millersville University
Molloy College
Philadelphia University
Queens University of Charlotte
Rollins College
Seton Hill University
Slippery Rock University
West Chester University