Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Lake Erie

Storm Soars Past Post University, 20-8

Hana Abu-Kwiek
Hana Abu-Kwiek

WATERBURY, Conn.--The Lake Erie College women's lacrosse team wrapped-up their trip to Connecticut with a 20-8 win over Post University on Sunday (March 24) in Waterbury, Conn. 

Meredith Howe (Fayetteville, N.Y./Jamesville Dewitt) led the Storm (5-2) with 11 points on six goals and five assists. 

Michaela Schock (Dover, Del./Caesar Rodney) got the Storm on the board first with goal less than two minutes into the game. The Eagles (0-6) responded by scoring the next two goals to go ahead 2-1. Howe tied it at two less than thirty seconds later but Post once again scored a quick goal for the 3-2 lead. 

The Storm fired back, scoring eight straight goals to take a 10-2 lead. The Eagles scored four of the final five first-half goals to cut the deficit to 11-7 at the half.

Lake Erie held Post to just one goal in the second half as the Storm ran away with the game, outscoring the Eagles 9-1 in the final frame for the win. 

Howe led all players with 11 points. Ashriel West (Jamesville, N.Y./Jamesville Dewitt) recorded eight points on three goals and five assists. Hana Abu-Kwiek (Lewis Center, Ohio/Olentangy Orange) was second on the Storm with four goals. Julia Kudla (Harleysville, Pa./Souderton) tallied four points as well on two goals and two assists while leading the Storm with five draw controls. Two goals from Schock and one apiece from Allison Trombetti (Lewis Center, Ohio/Olentangy), Kim Dang (Canton, Ohio/Massillon Jackson) and Brittany Rabuano (Auburn, N.Y./Auburn) rounded out the scoring for the Storm. Alex Freeman (Syracuse, N.Y./Jamesville, Dewitt) added one assist.

Katie Holden (Whitby, Ontario/Anderson C.V.I.) picked up the win in net for the Storm.

The Storm owned advantages in shots (36-15), groundballs (17-16) and draw controls (17-13). Lake Erie was a perfect seven-of-seven on clear attempts. 

Lake Erie opens to home portion of their 2013 season on Friday, March 29, against Young Harris College.