Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Lake Erie

Nine Women's Lacrosse Players Named All-Conference

Nine Women's Lacrosse Players Named All-Conference

PAINESVILLE, Ohio – The Great Midwest Athletic Conference (G-MAC) announced their 2018 Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams on Thursday (May 3) in conjunction with the 2018 G-MAC Tournament held at Lake Erie College.

Lake Erie had four individual award winners, five First Team All-Conference, two Second Team All-Conference and two Honorable Mention honorees.

Anna Spin (Auburn, N.Y. / Auburn) was named Offensive Player of the Year along with First Team All-Conference. A. Spin led the conference with 62 goals, 34 assists and 96 points in the regular season. Cecilia Spin (Auburn, N.Y. / Auburn) earned Defensive Player of the Year with a First Team All-Conference nod. She finished the season with 49 groundballs (team-high), 52 draw controls and 22 caused turnovers (team-high). Riley Heffron (Livermore, Ca. / Granada) won Freshman of the Year and she was also named Honorable Mention. Heffron scored 24 goals, grabbed 36 groundballs and won 26 draw controls in her first season. Mallory Ferrandiz was named Coach of the Year as she led the Storm to a 14-2 regular season, and the program's first regular season conference title.

A. Spin and C. Spin were joined on the First Team by Taylor Mathis (Corning, N.Y. / Corning), Chloe Nottingham (New Westminister, B.C. / New Westminister Secondary) and Harmony Moore (Farmington, N.Y. / Canandaigua Academy). Mathis was second on the team with 49 goals and 64 points on offense. She added 60 draw controls as well. Nottingham earned a defense spot as she picked up 31 groundballs. Moore made 77 saves in 672 minutes in the goal, earning her a goalkeeper spot on the First Team.

Midfielder Anastasia Crawford (Corning, N.Y. / Corning Painted Post East) and defender Haley Abraham (Canandaigua, N.Y. / Canandaigua Academy) were named Second Team All-Conference. Crawford scored 44 goals on 92 shots with 25 groundballs and 23 draw controls. Abraham grabbed 20 groundballs on defense for the Storm.

Heffron and Meagan Maxwell (Hamburg, N.Y. / Hamburg) were named Honorable Mention. Maxwell scored 17 goals, assisted on 25 goals for a total of 42 points with 34 groundballs.

The Storm will play for a Great Midwest tournament title as they face the University of Findlay on Saturday (May 5) at 5:30 PM.