Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Lake Erie

Vargo, Tesny Earn All-Conference Honors as Storm Finishes Third at GLIAC Championships

Zak Vargo (Photo by Ryan Baker/Baker Media Productions)
Zak Vargo (Photo by Ryan Baker/Baker Media Productions)

ASHLAND, OHIO – Sophomore Zak Vargo (Stow, Ohio/Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy) won all three of his matches and the Lake Erie College wrestling team throttled Tiffin University and put a scare into 17th-ranked University of Findlay to finish third at the inaugural Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Wrestling Championships Sunday (Feb. 5) at Ashland University's Kates Gymnasium.

Vargo won all three of his matches at 149 pounds by decision and was the only Storm (7-9, 1-2 GLIAC) wrestler to go undefeated on the day.  Sophomore Tyler Tesny (Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio/Cuyahoga Falls) and freshman Matt Vandermeer (Clarkston, Mich./Clarkston) each won a pair of matches on the day.  Tesny went 2-0 at 157 pounds while Vandermeer was 2-1 with his one loss an overtime defeat to Ashland's Thomas Graszl.

Vargo was named All-GLIAC First Team and 149 pounds while Tesny was a second-team pick.  Vargo was also named the Freshman Wrestler of the Year.

The day started off with a near upset of nationally-ranked and eventual conference champion Findlay.  The Storm fell behind the Oilers 7-0 but responded with four straight wins.  Sophomore 141-pounder Kevin Brunner (Avon Lake, Ohio/Avon Lake) pinned Chris Andrews  and Vargo, Tesny and Vandermeer followed with three consecutive decision victories to put Lake Erie up 15-7.  But Findlay responded with four straight wins of their own to escape with the 20-15 win.

Vargo picked up the team's lone win in a 37-3 loss to eighth-ranked Ashland, though they did come close in a couple other matches. Vandermeer los t 3-2 in overtime while two others fell in matches decided by just three points. 

The Storm bounced back in a big way in their final match of the day, blasting Tiffin 34-7.  Lake Erie won six of the eight contested matches and also picked up a pair of forfeitures.  Four of the wins came by decision while Tesny earned a major decision and freshman heavyweight Bobby Zappitelli (Painesville Twp., Ohio/Lake Catholic) picked up the team's only fall of the day, pinning Derrick Eshelman at the very end of the first period. 

The other final match saw Findlay upset Ashland 21-9, snapping the Eagles' four-match winning streak and claiming the trophy as the GLIAC's first wrestling championship team.  The Oilers went 3-0 on the day, while Ashland finished 2-1.  Tiffin went winless, losing all three matches.

The Storm is on the mats again on Tuesday night, Feb. 8, with a nonconference dual meet at Gannon University in Erie, Pa.

2012 GLIAC Championships | Kates Gymnasium (Ashland, Ohio)
#17 Findlay 20, Lake Erie 15
125: Ben Sergent (UF) maj. dec. Austin Gillihan (LEC), 12-1           
133: Nickholaas Weisjahn (UF) dec. Thomas McVicker (LEC), 11-9
141: Kevin Brunner (LEC) pinned Chris Andrews (UF), 3:00           
149: Zach Vargo (LEC) dec. Jeremy Espinoza (UF), 3-2     
157: Tyler Tesny (LEC) dec. Alex Betts (UF), 9-4 
165: Matt Vandermeer (LEC) dec. Mason True (UF), 3-0
174: Michael Lybarger (UF) dec. Zev Green (LEC), 5-0     
184: Adam Walters (UF) dec. Josh Linden (LEC), 7-2         
197: Ashton Brown (UF) dec. Mike Samijlenko (LEC), 10-4            
285: Andrew Tumlin (UF) maj. dec. Robert Zappitelli II (LEC), 11-2


2012 GLIAC Championships | Kates Gymnasium (Ashland, Ohio)
#8 Ashland 37, Lake Erie 3
125: Brandon Davis (AU) dec. Austin Gillihan (LEC), 8-5
133: Adli Edwards (AU) dec. Ian Ross (LEC), 6-0
141: Clarence Longley (AU) maj. dec. Kevin Brunner (LEC), 8-0
149: Zach Vargo (LEC) dec. Marc Hoff (AU), 7-5
157: Daniel Genetin (AU) pinned Nate Ball (LEC), 4:06
165: Thomas Graszl (AU) dec. Matt Vandermeer (LEC), 3-2 (OT)
174: Bryson Hall (AU) dec. Zev Green (LEC), 8-4
184: Kurt Schaefer (AU) pinned Jon Schaefer (LEC), 2:32
197: Joseph Brandt (AU) dec. Mikey Samijlenko (LEC), 6-3
285: Jacob Southwick (AU) pinned Bobby Zappitelli (LEC), 3:40


2012 GLIAC Championships | Kates Gymnasium (Ashland, Ohio)
Lake Erie 34, Tiffin 7
125: Austin Gillihan (LEC) won by forfeit
133: Ian Ross (LEC) dec. Stephen Pastor (TU), 2-1
141: Jonathon McKenzie (TU) maj. dec. Kevin Brunner (LEC), 14-3
149: Zach Vargo (LEC) dec. Vince Gualtieri (TU), 8-2
157: Tyler Tesny (LEC) maj. dec. Trevor Nickolai (TU), 11-1
165: Matt Vandermeer (LEC) dec. Christopher Baker (TU), 7-3
174: Jacob Cramer (TU) dec. Zev Green (LEC), 7-5
184: Josh Linden (LEC) dec. Kevin Christman (TU), 13-9
197: Mikey Samijlenko (LEC) won by forfeit
285: Bobby Zappitelli (LEC) pinned Derrick Eshelman (TU), 3:00