Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Lake Erie

Ten Placers Help No. 14 Storm Finish Second at Mount Union Invite

Ten Placers Help No. 14 Storm Finish Second at Mount Union Invite

(ALLIANCE, Ohio) – The No. 14 Lake Erie wrestling team took second place at the 2018 Mount Union Invitational at the Peterson Field House on Saturday. The Storm came away with 244.5 points and were bested only by Gannon with 279 points.

The Storm racked up 10 placers in the loaded field. Three of them came in the 133-lbs. weight class alone with Zane Johnson taking the top spot. He finished off Gannon's Austin Hertel by a 7-5 decision for first.

David Poff and Blake Glogouski finished fourth and fifth, respectively, in the same class. Poff defeated the Purple Raiders' Leondre Cooley 5-0 to advance to the third place contest, but was defeated by Seton Hill's Alan Diltz. Glogouski then pinned Cooley in 1:31 to take the fifth place title.

Brandon Houle and Evan Loughman crushed the competition in the heavyweight bracket as both advanced all the way to the finals before opting to accept the points that would be awarded for first and second.

Houle pinned Calik Kennedy of Brockport and Jacob Beistel of Seton Hill before he scored an 11-0 major decision over Gannon's Keith Swartley. Loughman pinned fellow G-MAC opponent Cameron Coffman of Ohio Valley, Garrett Reinwald of Gannon, and Connor Fulmer of Seton Hill before he advanced to the finals on a 12-6 decision over Bellarmine's Brian Stears.

At 141, Andrew Lieb navigated his way to first and had to defeat his brother Alex via 5-2 decision and fellow teammate Forrest Glogouski on a pin to do so. Andrew opened with a pin of Gannon's Anthony Corigliano and Bellarmine's Alex Rhine before the aforementioned victories. A 4-2 decision over Gannon's Justo Hernandez gave him the gold.

Sean O'Hearon may have had the most impressive day with his championship at 165. It was an all-G-MAC final with O'Hearon edging out Ohio Valley's Dalton George, currently ranked No. 6 nationally in the 174-lbs. weight class, by a 3-1 decision. He got to the finals with a pin over Brockport's Matt Kline, a tech fall over Adrian's Mike Jacobs, and a narrow 3-2 decision against Gannon's Connor Day.

The reigning G-MAC Athlete of the Week Nick Boggs advanced to the finals at 157 before eventually taking an 8-2 decision against Gannon's George McGuire. Boggs opened with a quick 37-second pin on Ohio Northern's Tim Vlasek, another pin against Gannon's Nico Marsico in 6:24, and 13-4 major decision over Dylan Miller of Mount Union.

Christopher Droege picked up third at 197 to complete the group of 10. He started with a 9-4 win over Zach Kornberg of Brockport, followed with a 4-2 defeat by Gannon's Freddie Nixon, rebounded with a 16-1 tech fall of Mount Union's Nick Corvo, and won the third place bout with a 9-1 major decision against OVU's Tyler Koreski.

Zane Johnson – 1st 133
David Poff – 4th 133
Blake Glogouski – 5th 133
Andrew Lieb – 1st 141
Forrest Glogouski – 4th 141
Nick Boggs – 2nd 157
Sean O'Hearon – 1st 165
Christopher Droege – 3rd 197
Evan Loughman – 1st 285
Brandon Houle – 2nd 285